1971 and a family of collaborators

First, read this excellent interview with Syed Ashfaqul Haque. Reading this interview reminded me of the story my uncle shared with me this weekend.

My uncle is from Indore, Madhya Pradesh, India. He moved to Pakistan upon marrying my aunt. Most of his family is in India. He told me about what befell his sister’s family in Bangladesh. According to my uncle, Mukti bahini guys came to his sister’s home, roughed up her husband and fired shots at their house. Then a few days later, a grenade was thrown into her house, killing her daughter (shrapnel wound to the head) and son. My uncle’s sister and one of her daughters (with permanent damage to her hand) survived. Her husband was kidnapped, never returned, and was presumed dead. My uncle holds Mukti bahini responsible.

I didn’t find an opportune time to ask my uncle if his brother-in-law was from W. Pakistan and an active collaborator or just a pro-Pakistan Bangali, or perceived as such. This is one of the several stories of 1971, and is not a denial of what Pakistani soldiers/militia-men or other pro-Pakistan forces/groups/people did, and is perhaps of most value if seen within that context. Not all collaborators or those that were perceived as such went home scot-free.

What else does this story say? May be some other day, when I have more than 15 minutes to write.

Also See: Keeping Dhaka’s ghosts alive

This entry was posted in Diary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 1971 and a family of collaborators

  1. Guest says:

    There is great denial in Pak of what pak mily did in Bangladesh and perhaps in Bangladesh of what the Mukti Bahini did.

    But more importantly Pak army’s role in atrocities in Bangladesh need to be explored and laid bare for us to understand our current narrative.

Leave a Reply

